MSoP News – September 2021

Welcome back, teachers, families and students to the 2021 – 2022 school year. Last year, the protocols we put in place to protect our school community from Covid-19 were successful, and so we will continue many of them for this year – Parent Informational Meetings via Zoom, teachers, parents and students 5 years and older masked, temperature checks on arrival, no big welcome back potluck picnic in the park, children practicing physical distancing, no mixing of classes on the playground or gym, siblings placed in the same class whenever possible, no handshakes at the door . . . plus lots and lots of handwashing!

We are counting on everyone in our school community to do their part in keeping the whole community safe and healthy. We can all make choices that mitigate risks for all – avoiding crowds, spending time outdoors, keeping everyone in the family home if a member of the family is sick, especially for an unknown reason, or has Covid-19 symptoms, letting us know asap of any potential exposure risk . . . I also can’t stress enough the simple act of everyone washing hands immediately upon a return to the home. This is a good health habit for us all to practice for ever, not just during a pandemic.

In spite of all of the changes, please know that the children are happy to be back at school and engaging with the materials and friends in the classroom. Returning children are enjoying the sense of routine, while new children are learning the daily routine and procedures. We thank you for trusting us with the care and education of your children. We will do our very best to be worthy of your trust!

If you missed last night’s parent meeting, you can check out the recording on YouTube with this link

Bev Wolff

Head of school and newsletter editor!

This month we are introducing our core staff, both teaching and administration. In our next newsletter we will introduce you to our lunchbunch and after-care teachers.

Welcome Back, Oak Room

We are very excited to reopen our class for two to three year olds. Montessori Beginnings is held in the Oak Room, room 113, with teachers Ms. Jackie and Ms. Ivy.

Ms. Jackie, Lead Teacher in Oak Room (she, her, hers) I was born and raised in Michigan. I earned my Bachelor of Science degree in Elementary Education from Central Michigan University in 2008. While in Michigan I worked in various childcare centers and in the public school system. My husband and I lived in Chicago before relocating to Pullman in 2012. In 2019 I earned my Montessori certification through the North American Montessori Center. I look forward to my third year at MSoP and getting to know the Oak students and families, and teaching again with Ms. Ivy.

Ms. Ivy, assistant teacher in Oak Room (she, her, hers) I am originally from the Philippines. I met my husband 18 years ago while he was living in the Caribbean, we married and moved to Pullman for his work. My husband and I have two boys in Lincoln Middle School. I have my bachelors degree in Hotel and Restaurant Management from Southwestern University in the Philippines, and my Assistant Teacher training certificate from the Montessori Institute of America. I have been with the Montessori School of Pullman for 6 years. I am excited to meet you all.

When I am not at work, my family and I love hiking and walking our Golden Retriever named Biko. 

Aspen Room, room 111

This is our extended care preschool room, and is open from 7:30 – 5:30.

Ms. Lynn, Co-Lead Teacher in Aspen Room (she, her, hers) I grew up on the west side of Washington, on Bainbridge Island. I graduated from Washington State University with a degree in Elementary Education with a reading teacher endorsement. I spent most of my teaching career in remote native villages in the Alaskan bush. This is where my husband, Randy, and I raised our two children, Kendra and James, now ages 26 and 22. Seven years ago Randy and I moved back to Washington and I became a librarian for Whitman County. I missed teaching though, so I began to sub for the Montessori School of Pullman while working on my Montessori training to teach 3-6 year olds. I now hold a Montessori teaching certificate to teach 3 – 6 year olds from the North American Montessori Center.  I look forward to a great school year.

Najnin, Co-lead Teacher in Aspen Room (she, her, hers) I was raised in Bangladesh. I moved to Pullman in the summer of 2000 from North Carolina with my husband, who is working at Washington State University as an adjunct faculty member. We have raised our four kids in Pullman.  They now range from  10th grade to fourth year of college. I am currently working on my Master’s in Education with a Special Education Endorsement. I attended Washington State University and graduated in 2013 from the Human Development Department with a specialization in Early Childhood Development Care. I have worked with children of ages 2-6 from 2008 as a substitute and an assistant teacher in the Pullman community.  I also have 5 years of experience working with students with special needs in the Pullman School District.

I have my Montessori teacher training certification in the Early childhood program through the North American Montessori Center (NAMC).

I am active in the local Muslim Community and serving as the President of the Women’s group at the Pullman Islamic Center. 

Willow Room, room 107

This is our school-day preschool room. We also offer Before Care in this room.

Ms. Jane, Co-Lead Teacher, in Willow Room (she, her, hers) I am originally from England, although I have now lived in America longer.  I studied straight out of High School to become a British Qualified Nanny, and a nanny job is what brought me to the USA, specifically California.  There I nannied for a couple of families, both of whom had children who attended a Montessori School in that town.  This was my introduction to Montessori, and I was soon hooked.  I started my Montessori teaching certificate program, and graduated in 1996, with an American Montessori Society Teaching Certificate.

I married in 1993, and had two boys, five years apart.  In 2005, my family moved from California to Idaho.  In 2011, we moved again to Moscow, Idaho, and I started working at the Montessori School of Pullman as a lead teacher in a 3 – 6 class.  My husband attended the University of Idaho, graduating in 2014 with a Bachelors in Information Systems Management and Operations Management.

Our oldest son graduated from Moscow High, and is now in the Air Force.  Our younger son now attends Moscow High School and is following in his brother’s footsteps by being a lifeguard at the Moscow Aquatic Center and looking forward to joining the Air Force, too.

I am very excited for this new year, co-teaching with Sudha!  

Ms. Sudha, Co-Lead Teacher in Willow Room (she, her, hers): I was born and raised in India. I originally trained and worked as a teacher in a traditional system in India, but I knew there must be better ways to teach. After reading about Maria Montessori and her education methods in my Education degree, I wanted to experience the philosophy of ‘following the child.’ I came to Washington State to study Montessori education.

I graduated through the Montessori Institute of America as a Teacher of 3-6 year olds.   In 2011, after completing my studies and a year’s practicum teaching at Dancing Pines Montessori School in Renton, Washington, I came to work as a lead teacher at the Montessori School of Pullman. Apart from Montessori training, I have my Bachelor degree in both Economics & Education and Master’s degree in Economics. I have 6+ years teaching experience in India.  In 2014, I received my Montessori Elementary Teaching Certificate (6-9 year olds) through the North American Montessori Center, Canada. I am a certified teacher in Washington State, receiving my Washington teachers’ license in 2020.  Now I am beginning my eleventh year as a lead teacher at the Montessori School of Pullman. I am very excited to teach things that I have learned from my training and experience

My hobbies are traveling, hiking, baking, painting, art/crafts, sewing and spending fun time with my two amazing kids.

Administration

 

Ms. Bev, Head of School (She, her, hers) I was born and raised in England, moving to the USA in the eighties with my husband, John, and two young daughters. My youngest child, my son, John, was born in Texas, where we lived for many years. During that time I completed an English degree at UTA, as well as my Montessori teaching certificates for teaching 3 – 6 year olds and 6 -9 year olds. Our family moved to Pullman in 1997.

I began my teaching career in the traditional model, with a middle-school teaching certificate from the University of London in English and Drama. As soon as I was introduced to Montessori Education through the preschool my daughters attended, I became passionate about Montessori philosophy and practice. Over the years I have taught toddlers, preschoolers and lower elementary using the Montessori approach, and I have been the administrator of the Montessori School of Pullman since 2008. Now my grandson attends this school, making it a three generation Montessori experience! My baby granddaughter will join as soon as she is old enough! My oldest grandson is a graduate, and now in KG at Pullman Community Montessori, the new charter school in Pullman,

I am currently the President of the Montessori Institute of America, serving my second term, and I am also Vice Chair for the Pullman Community Montessori school board. It is a dream come true for me to be able to work as part of a team to bring tuition free Montessori education to Pullman through a K- 9 charter school.

I love spending time with family and friends, cooking, gardening, reading and hiking. I love to travel back to England to visit my sister, and her extended family, and to visit my daughters, who both live in Bellingham.

Ms. Alicia  Administrative Assistant  (she, her, hers), I am the mother of two Montessori School of Pullman graduates and have been involved with the school for six years. During that time, I have been a parent volunteer, a lunch bunch helper, and a substitute teacher. This is my second year of working as administrative assistant, helping with the daily operations while staying connected to the teachers and families. 

Raised in Walla Walla, I graduated from the University of Idaho in 2005 and decided to stay in the area to raise a family with my husband. When I am not splitting my time between Montessori and running my design and photography business, I enjoy cooking, tending to my numerous houseplants, and paddleboarding. 

Special Thanks

  • To our school board members – Nathan Porter (President), Sarah Scholes (Vice-President), Dan Salois (Treasurer), Sharon DeChenne (Secretary) and members-at-large – Laura Rose Gage and Amie Smith. You put in some good work to help refine our Covid-19 protocols
  • Our staff, for all of their hard work in getting the rooms ready. The classrooms are so inviting for the children.
  • The Engler Family, for their help with determining how to proceed with testing
  • To all of our families, for joining us and trusting us with your children

Published by bevfollowsthechild

Just realized that I have been involved in Montessori Education for over a quarter of a century (eek!), as a Montessori parent, teacher, and Director. Maybe I have some wisdom to share!

Leave a comment